
‭Town Council‬
‭Boulder Town, Utah‬ ‭Resolution No. 2024-2‬

‭Resolution‬

‭UPDATING BOULDER TOWN LANDFILL AND DUMPSTER POLICIES‬

‭WHEREAS Boulder Town has and maintains a permit with the Utah Department of‬
‭Environmental Quality to operate a Class IVb landfill;‬

‭WHEREAS Boulder Town Council has an informal relationship with Garfield County for‬
‭it to provide municipal solid waste services;‬

‭WHEREAS Garfield County provides and manages dumpsters within and for Boulder‬
‭Town; and‬

‭WHEREAS Boulder Town Council desires to ensure the clean, orderly, and lawful use of‬
‭both County dumpsters and the Town’s landfill by the community.‬

‭THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOUDER TOWN COUNCIL that the policy‬
‭entitled “Boulder Landfill & Dumpster Policies Rev. 04” will govern use of the landfill and‬
‭dumpsters by the community, effective immediately upon recording.‬

‭ADOPTED by the Boulder Town Council this ______ day of ______________, 2024.‬

‭_______________________________________‬

‭Judy Drain, Town Mayor‬

‭Attested:‬

‭__________________________________‬

‭Jessica LeFevre, Town Clerk‬
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‭Landfill Policies‬
‭The Boulder Landfill is located southeast of town off Highway 12 between mile markers‬
‭84 and 85.‬

‭Use:‬ ‭For household/residential/non-commercial use‬‭only.  Contractors and large‬
‭demolition projects must make arrangements for on-site waste containment‬
‭and removal.‬

‭Service:‬ ‭Pursuant to the state permit, the landfill‬‭is open to all Boulder-area residents‬
‭including both town and unincorporated residents.  Dumping is only allowed‬
‭when a dump operator employee is on site.‬

‭Hours:‬ ‭Saturdays 12PM-4PM, or by appointment with‬‭minimum 24hrs advance‬
‭notice (contact Town Clerk).‬

‭Fees:‬ ‭Free during regular hours.  Appointments are‬‭$50 for the first load and $25‬
‭each additional load.  Fees shall be paid to the Town Clerk.‬

‭Penalty:‬ ‭Improper use of the landfill or violation‬‭of any of these policies may result in‬
‭an administrative assessment of up to $500 for each violation.‬

‭Materials:‬ ‭The landfill can legally accept the following‬‭as defined in Utah Solid Waste‬
‭Rules (‬‭U‬‭TAH‬‭A‬‭DMIN‬‭. C‬‭ODE‬‭R315-301-2:‬

‭●‬ ‭Yard waste/trees/weeds‬
‭●‬ ‭Construction/demolition waste (inert, non-hazardous)‬
‭●‬ ‭Metal‬
‭●‬ ‭Appliances (large and small)‬
‭●‬ ‭Tires‬
‭●‬ ‭Vehicles‬‭, Camp Trailers, RVs, and similar items‬‭(‬‭with all liquids drained‬

‭& batteries removed)‬
‭o‬ ‭NOTE: Can only be accepted with all liquids drained & batteries‬

‭removed!‬
‭o‬ ‭NOTE: Special Fee of $500‬‭for these items‬‭for vehicles‬

‭●‬ ‭Furniture‬
‭●‬ ‭Dead animals.‬

‭NOT ALLOWED:‬ ‭Utah state law prohibits the landfill‬‭from accepting‬
‭municipal/household garbage, liquids of any kind, hazardous‬
‭materials/waste, non-inert waste, batteries, human waste,‬
‭food/compost, or industrial waste.‬

‭Facilities accepting used oil can be found here:‬
‭https://deq.utah.gov/waste-management-and-radiation-control/used-oil-recycling-program‬
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‭Dumpster Policies‬
‭The Boulder Dumpsters are primarily located at the intersection of HWY 12 & E 400 N.‬
‭The dumpsters are owned and managed by Garfield County with all waste transported‬
‭to a lined-pit landfill in Johns Valley.‬

‭Use:‬ ‭For household/municipal and commercial solid‬‭waste (“garbage”) only.  Not‬
‭for items/waste suitable for disposal at the Boulder Landfill.‬

‭Service:‬ ‭The dumpsters are designated and intended‬‭for use by residents and‬
‭nonresidents.‬

‭Fees:‬ ‭The dumpsters are free to use.‬

‭Penalty:‬ ‭Improper use of the dumpsters may result‬‭in an administrative assessment‬
‭of up to $500 for each violation.‬

‭Materials:‬ ‭Pursuant to Garfield County Ordinance‬‭2007-4 and Utah state law the‬
‭dumpsters can accept the following materials:‬

‭●‬ ‭Municipal/residential/household solid waste (“garbage”)‬
‭●‬ ‭Commercial/food waste‬
‭●‬ ‭Non-hazardous sludge‬
‭●‬ ‭Liquids (non-hazardous) in containers no larger than 5 gallons‬
‭●‬ ‭Small-scale residential construction/demolition waste, bagged & tied,‬

‭and less than 3 feet in any dimension‬

‭NOT ALLOWED:‬ ‭In accordance with the Utah State Solid‬‭and Hazardous Waste Act‬
‭and Garfield County Ordinance 2007-4, dumpsters are prohibiting‬
‭from receiving:‬

‭●‬ ‭Large quantities or large-sized construction/demolition waste‬
‭●‬ ‭Construction/demolition waste generated from sites with active building‬

‭permits (suitable for Boulder Landfill)‬
‭●‬ ‭Hazardous waste‬
‭●‬ ‭Tires (suitable for Boulder Landfill)‬
‭●‬ ‭Furniture (suitable for Boulder Landfill)‬
‭●‬ ‭Batteries‬
‭●‬ ‭Non-containerized liquids‬
‭●‬ ‭Sludges containing liquids‬


